How many provinces are there in Mauritius?

Are there provinces in Mauritius?

The provincial boundaries of each of Mauritius districts are marked with broken lines and the capital of each district is denoted with a white square. The Mauritius provinces are distinctly colored on the Political Mauritius Map so that they are differentiated from each other.

How many districts are there in Mauritius?

The Island of Mauritius shall be divided into 9 districts— 1 Port Louis 2 Pamplemousses 3 Rivière du Rempart 4 Flacq 5 Grand Port 6 Savanne 7 Black River 8 Plaines Wilhems 9 Moka.

How many islands are in Mauritius?

Mauritius is southeast of Africa and southwest of Asia. There are seven main islands and archipelagos in Mauritius. In no particular order, they are Chagos Archipelago, Mauritius, Tromelin, Agaléga, Saint Brandon, and Rodrigues.

What is the biggest village in Mauritius?

Mauritius – 10 Largest Cities

Name Population
1 Port Louis , Port Louis 155,226
2 Beau Bassin-Rose Hill , Plaines Wilhems 111,355
3 Vacoas , Plaines Wilhems 110,000
4 Curepipe , Plaines Wilhems 84,200

Why do Mauritians look Indian?

Indo-Mauritians are descended from Indian immigrants who arrived in the 19th century via the Aapravasi Ghat in order to work as indentured labourers after slavery was abolished in 1835.

IT\'S FUNNING:  Is Ghana economy good?

Is Mauritius a poor country?

Although severe poverty is rare in Mauritius compared to other parts of Africa, the country contains a minority of very poor households, most of which are located in rural areas. … Inequality is growing in Mauritius and relative poverty increased from 8.5% in 2007 to 9.8% in 2012.

What is the biggest district in Mauritius?

Situated in the east of the island, Flacq, with an area of 297.9 kilometres squared and a population of some 138 460 people is the largest district in Mauritius.

How many states are in Mauritius?

Mauritius is divided into nine districts which consist of 1 city, 4 towns and 130 villages, the capital is Port Louis.


Districts Area km2 Population (31 December 2012)
Pamplemousses 178.7 140,511
Plaines Wilhems 203.3 387,372
Port Louis 42.7 127,454
Rivière du Rempart 147.6 110,235

What is the capital of Mauritius?

Port Louis
о. Маврикий/Столицы
Искать: What is the capital of Mauritius?