How many regions were in Nigeria before independence?

At the time of independence in 1960, Nigeria was a Federal State of three Regions: Northern, Western, and Eastern. Additionally, provinces, which were a legacy of colonial and protectorate times, remained extant until they were abolished in 1976.

How many region did Nigeria have?

As Nigeria preparded for independence, the British worked out an arrangement which divided Nigeria into four regions.

How many regions was Nigeria at independence?

Nigeria was granted full independence in October 1960, as a federation of three regions (northern, western, and eastern) under a constitution that provided for a parliamentary form of government. Under the constitution, each of the three regions retained a substantial measure of self-government.

When was the fourth region created in Nigeria?

The Mid-Western Region was a division of Nigeria from 1963 to 1991, from 1976 being known as the Bendel state. It was formed in June 1963 from Benin and Delta provinces of the Western Region, and its capital was Benin City.

IT\'S FUNNING:  What is the best bank in Ghana?

What are the four regions in Nigeria and their states?

The six geopolitical zones in Nigeria and the states that make up each of the geopolitical zones.

  • North Central: Benue. Kogi. Kwara. …
  • North East: Adamawa. Bauchi. Borno. …
  • North West: Jigawa. Kaduna. Kano. …
  • South East: Abia. Anambra. Ebonyi. …
  • South South (also known as Niger Delta region) Akwa Ibom. Bayelsa. …
  • South West: Ekiti. Lagos.

How many regions did Nigeria have before 1966?

Politics. The country was split into three geopolitical regions—Western Region, Eastern Region and Northern Region—and its political parties took on the identities and ideologies of each region.

Who first divided Nigeria into 3 regions?

Bernard Bourdillon the Governor-general at that time initiated and laid the foundation of federalism in Nigeria in 1939 by creating three provinces. He later handed over the constitution to his successor Arthur Richards and it became the Richards Constitution of 1946.

Who divided Nigeria into 4 regions?

In 1967, in a move towards greater autonomy for minority ethnic groups, the military under leadership of Major General Yakubu Gowon divided the four regions into 12 states.

What are the 3 regions of Nigeria?


  • Northern Nigeria. Northern Nigeria is a graphical region of Nigeria, taking up nearly two thirds the land mass of the country. …
  • Western Nigeria. Western Nigeria is a subdivision of Nigeria, making up the division with Lagos. …
  • Eastern Nigeria. Eastern Nigeria is the East most division of Nigeria.

Which tribe is the oldest in Nigeria?

Igbo. The Igbo people are descendants of the Nri Kingdom, the oldest in Nigeria. They have many customs and traditions and can be found in southeast Nigeria, consisting of about 18% of the population. This tribe differs from the others in that there is no hierarchical system of governance.

IT\'S FUNNING:  What caused the Dumsor in Ghana?

How many regions did Nigeria have 1967?

General Yakubu Gowon created twelve states out of the four regions that existed at that time appointing a governor to head them.

What was Nigeria called before?

What was its name before Nigeria? The former name for Nigeria was the Royal Niger Company Territories. It does not sound like a country name at all! The name Nigeria was replaced and preserved up until today.

When was the Nigerian naira introduced?

The naira was introduced in 1973, when the country decimalized its monetary system and substituted the naira for the Nigerian pound (the country used the British pound sterling when it was a British colony), which was divided into shillings.

Who gave Nigeria name?

Like so many modern African states, Nigeria is the creation of European imperialism. Its very name – after the great Niger River, the country’s dominating physical feature – was suggested in the 1890s by British journalist Flora Shaw, who later became the wife of colonial governor Frederick Lugard.

Who divided Nigeria into 12 states?

General Yakubu Gowon was head of state of Nigeria from August 1966 to July 1975. He reorganized the four regions into twelve states in May 1967. Following is a list of military governors during his regime.

How is Nigeria divided?

Nigeria is a federation of thirty-six states and one Federal Capital Territory, which are divided into 774 Local Government Areas (LGAs) in total. A clickable map of Nigeria showing its 36 states and the federal capital territory.