Is Uganda part of Ecowas?

Is Uganda in Ecowas?

The 15 members of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.

Which country is not part of Ecowas?

Member states

All current members joined the community as founding members in May 1975, except Cape Verde which joined in 1977. The only former member of ECOWAS is Arabic-speaking Mauritania, which was also one of the founding members in 1975 and decided to withdraw in December 2000.

Can I use Ecowas passport to travel to Ghana?

All persons entering Ghana must be in possession of a valid passport or Travel Document establishing the identity of the holder. Participants who require visas to enter Ghana are to do so from the respective Ghanaian Consulates abroad. Visas are required by all except nationals of ECOWAS, Kenya, Tanzania and Singapore.

Where can I travel with Ecowas passport?

13 The ECOWAS travel certificate is currently used in Burkina Faso, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Niger, Nigeria and Sierra Leone.

IT\'S FUNNING:  How long has Ghana been a country?

What are the 16 countries of West Africa?

The West Africa UN subregion includes the following countries:Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte D’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo .

Which country is in East Africa?

East African countries (19) – Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Réunion, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Somaliland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

How many African countries do we have?

There are 54 countries in Africa today, according to the United Nations.

Which African country gained independence first?


Rank Country Independence date
1 Liberia 26 July 1847 26 July 1961
2 South Africa 31 May 1910
3 Egypt 28 February 1922
4 Ethiopian Empire 31 January 1942 19 December 1944

How many Anglophone countries are in Ecowas?

(Togo First) – Yesterday, in Abuja, the ministers of finance and central banks’ governors of the ECOWAS’ five English-speaking countries (Nigeria, Ghana, Sierra Leone, Liberia, and The Gambia), together with Guinea, rejected the ECO – which is supposed to become the single currency used by all ECOWAS member states.

Can I travel to Europe with ECOWAS passport?

The ECOWAS passport is a common passport document for countries in West Africa. … The passport can be used within the sub-region and is also recognized for international travel.

Do Nigerians need Ghana passport?

To travel from Nigeria to Ghana by any means, you need a valid international/ECOWAS passport and a yellow card. It is very advisable to get your yellow card before travelling as it is very important and can be a means by which officials extort you.

IT\'S FUNNING:  Your question: What is the full meaning of NPC in Nigeria?

Is ECOWAS passport the same as international passport?

The international passport is different from the ECOWAS passport. The ECOWAS passport only grants travel entry into 15 West African states (see the full list of member states). Hence as a Nigerian, you will need a Nigerian international passport if you are travelling outside the West African states identified.

Can I travel to Ghana without passport?

To enter Ghana, a valid passport is required by all nationals referred to in the chart above.