Question: How many regions are there in Cameroon?

The Republic of Cameroon is divided into ten regions.

What are the 10 regions of Cameroon?


  • ADAMAWA REGION. Regional capital : Ngaoundere. …
  • CENTRE REGION. Regional capital: Yaoundé …
  • EAST REGION. Regional capital: Bertoua. …
  • FAR NORTH REGION. Regional capital: Maroua. …
  • LITTORAL REGION. Regional capital: Douala. …
  • NORTH REGION. Regional capital: Garoua. …
  • NORTH WEST REGION. Regional capital: Bamenda. …

Which is the biggest region in Cameroon?

With 109,002 km² of territory, it is the largest region in the nation as well as the most sparsely populated.

East Region (Cameroon)

East Region
Country Cameroon
Capital Bertoua
Departments Boumba-et-Ngoko, Haut-Nyong, Kadey, Lom-et-Djérem

How many sub divisions are in Cameroon?

The regions are subdivided into 58 divisions (French départements). These are headed by presidentially appointed divisional officers (préfets), who perform the governors’ duties on a smaller scale.

IT\'S FUNNING:  What is the minimum wage in Zimbabwe?

How many divisions are in the West Region of Cameroon?

The West consists of eight divisions or departments (departements), each headed by a prefect (prefet), or senior divisional officer.

How many ethnic groups are in Cameroon?

POPULATION Cameroon has more than 240 tribes which are found in three main ethnic groups; Bantus, Semi-Bantus and Sudanese. The number of national languages spoken in the country is more than 240.

How many communes are in Cameroon?

As of 2005 (and since 1996) there are 2 urban communities (Douala and Yaoundé) divided into 11 urban districts (5 in Douala and 6 in Yaounde), 9 towns with special status (Nkongsamba, Bafoussam, Bamenda, Limbe, Edéa, Ebolowa, Garoua, Maroua and Kumba), 11 urban communes and 305 rural communes.

Which is the smallest region in Cameroon?

The West Region is the smallest of Cameroon’s ten regions in area, yet it has the highest population density.

Which is the cleanest town in Cameroon?


Yaoundé is one of the 10 cleanest cities in Cameroon. The city is perfectly planned. Worthy of note here is that Yaoundé city has a waste transfer center that regulates environmental cleanliness which acts as an intermediary between the landfill and the household waste.

Which is the most populated tribe in Cameroon?


  • East Region.
  • Far North Region.
  • Littoral Region.
  • North Region.
  • North West Region.
  • West Region.
  • South Region.
  • South West Region.

How many councils are there in Cameroon?

There are 374 local government councils, consisting of 360 municipal councils and 14 city councils. There are also 45 district sub-divisions within the cities.

IT\'S FUNNING:  Does snow fall in Mauritius?

How many subdivisions are in the southwest region of Cameroon?

Administration. The region is divided into six divisions or departments: Fako, Koupé-Manengouba, Lebialem, Manyu, Meme, and Ndian.

How many senators are there in each region in Cameroon?

The Senate has 100 seats, of which 70 are elected and 30 appointed by the President, with each region having 10 Senators.

How many divisions are in the Northwest?

The North West Region is administratively divided into 7 divisions each of them headed by a SDO(Senior Divisional Officer).

How many divisions is Bamenda?

The city is made up of 3 villages; Bamendakwe, Mankon and Nkwen classified as Bamenda I II and III sub-divisions respectively for administrative reasons. However, it is surrounded by other suburban areas and villages like Bambui, Akum, Bafut, Bali, Chombah and Mbatu.

How many subdivisions are in Momo Division?

The department is divided administratively into 5 communes and in turn into villages.