When did Ghana add more regions?

On the day Ghana became a republic, 1 July 1960, the Northern Region got split into the Northern and Upper regions raising the number of regions to seven.

In which year did Ghana have 16 regions?

Although the official inauguration was in 1987, the Upper West Region had already functioned as an administrative unit since the break-up of the Upper Region in December 1982, prior to the 1984 national census.

Map and Regions of Ghana.


How many regions did Ghana have in 1957?

Ghana started with five regions on March 6, 1957: Ashanti, the Northern, Eastern, Western and the Volta regions. The first region to be created post-independence was the Brong Ahafo Region.

How many regions does Ghana have 2015?

Located in the west of the African continent, Ghana consists of a total of ten regions. These regions are divided into 216 districts by 2015.

IT\'S FUNNING:  Can you wear jeans in Egypt?

How many regions is Ghana 2021?

The following table presents a listing of Ghana’s 16 Regions ranked in order of their surface area.

Is Kumasi bigger than Accra?

Accra is Ghana’s largest city and the nation’s capital. Ghana is a West African country located along the Gulf of Guinea and the Atlantic Ocean.

The Biggest Cities In Ghana.

Rank Biggest Cities in Ghana Population
1 Accra 2,291,352
2 Kumasi 2,069,350
3 Sekondi-Takoradi 445,205
4 Sunyani 248,496

Which region was created from western region in 1970?

The Central Region was created out of the Western Region just in time for the 1970 population census.

How many regions did Ghana have in 1902?

1902: Gold Coast consisted of three regions: Ashanti, Gold Coast colony, and Northern Territories protectorate.

Change history:

Region Northern
Population 866,503
Area(km.²) 78,958
Capital Tamale

What are the new 16 regions in Ghana?

The 16 regional capitals;

  • Oti Region – Dambai.
  • Bono East Region – Techiman.
  • Ahafo Region – Goaso.
  • Bono Region – Sunyani.
  • North East Region – Nalerigu.
  • Savannah Region – Damango.
  • Western North Region- Sefwi Wiawso.
  • Western Region – Sekondi.

Which region was created from eastern region in 1982?

1982: Accra and Ada split from Eastern region to become Greater Accra (capital Accra).

How many regions is Ghana 2020?

As of 2020, there are currently sixteen regions, which are further divided for administrative purposes into 260 local metropolitan, municipal and district assemblies (or MMDA’s).

Which region has the highest population in Ghana 2020?

As of 2021, the Ashanti and Greater Accra regions were the most populous in Ghana, each accounting for around six million inhabitants. Following these were the Central and Eastern regions, each registering 2.9 million people.

IT\'S FUNNING:  Which is the latest number plate in Kenya?

How many regions do we have in Ghana and their capitals?

Six new regions have been created out of the Volta, Brong Ahafo, Northern and Western regions.

The 16 Regions of Ghana and their Capitals [2021 Updated]

Region Capital
Ashanti Region Kumasi
Bono East Region Techiman
Bono Region Sunyani
Central Region Cape Coast

Which region is the richest in Ghana?

Historically, we can confidently say the Ashanti’s are by far the richest sect of Ghanaians by birth. Born into riches, they are destined for wealth by inheritance. Many Ashanti’s acquire their starting capital from their fathers and forefathers. They have something to build on from the start.

What is the population of Ghana in 2021?

The current population of Ghana in 2021 is 31,732,129, a 2.12% increase from 2020.

How many metropolitan are in Ghana?

How many metropolitan assemblies are in Ghana? There are three types: six metropolitans, 56 municipal, and 154 district assemblies. There are also sub-district political and administrative structures that are subordinate bodies of the assemblies.