When did Ghana win World Cup?

They won the 2009 FIFA U-20 World Cup in the Cairo International Stadium, Cairo, Egypt after defeating Brazil 4-3 on Penalties when the match ended (0-0) after extra time. This was the first time an African country won the FIFA U-20 World Cup Championship.

Has Ghana won a World Cup before?

After going through 2005 unbeaten, the Ghana national football team won the FIFA Best Mover of the Year Award and reached the second round of the 2006 FIFA World Cup.

Ghana national football team.

FIFA ranking
Appearances 23 (first in 1963)
Best result Champions (1963, 1965, 1978, 1982)
African Nations Championship
Appearances 3 (first in 2009)

In which year did Ghana Under 20 win the World Cup?

2009 FIFA U-20 World Cup

FIFA U-20 World Cup Egypt 2009 كأس العالم للشباب تحت 20 سنة 2009
Venue(s) 7 (in 5 host cities)
Final positions
Champions Ghana (1st title)
Runners-up Brazil

Did Ghana qualify for 2018 World Cup?

Ghana’s 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifying opponents have been revealed with the Black Stars set to face Congo, Uganda and familiar foes Egypt in Group E. This followed the draw made in Cairo, Egypt on Friday as 20 sides from the continent were paired in five four-team groups.

IT\'S FUNNING:  Is Kenya a peaceful country?

Which year did Ghana won the Under 17 World Cup?

The Ghana national U-17 football team known as the Black Starlets, is the youngest team that represents Ghana in football. They are two-time FIFA U-17 World Cup Champions in 1991 and 1995 and a two-time Runner-up in 1993 and 1997.

Is Ghana in the World Cup 2022?

Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup

Six African teams have qualified for the FIFA World Cup playoffs next year in March. DR Congo, Ghana Mali and Egypt joined the Lions of Teranga and the Pharaohs in the prequalification games in 2022.

Who won Under 20 World Cup 2009?

Ten-man Ghana beat Brazil 4-3 on penalties after there were no goals in 120 minutes of action to become the first African team to win the FIFA Under-20 World Cup in Cairo, Egypt on Friday night. Maicon would have won it for Brazil when the score stood at 3-2 only for him to blast his kick wide.

Who won 2008 WC?

Manchester United defeated LDU Quito 1–0 in the final at the International Stadium in Yokohama on 21 December, to become the first British team to win the competition.

Who won FIFA World Cup 2009?

The 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup was the eighth Confederations Cup, and was held in South Africa from 14 June to 28 June 2009, as a prelude to the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

2009 FIFA Confederations Cup.

FIFA Sokker-Konfederasiebeker in 2009
Champions Brazil (3rd title)
Runners-up United States
Third place Spain
Fourth place South Africa
IT\'S FUNNING:  What is Viper called in Igbo?

How many teams qualify for World Cup from Africa?

AFC (Asia) have an allocation of four or five teams* competing in the World Cup finals. CAF (Africa) are allocated five teams, with CONCACAF (North, Central America and Caribbean) having three or four. CONEMBOL (South America) have four or five teams competing.

How many African teams are in the 2018 World Cup?

2018 FIFA World Cup qualification (CAF)

Tournament details
Teams 54 (from 1 confederation)
Tournament statistics
Matches played 127
Goals scored 309 (2.43 per match)

Who won FIFA Under 17 World Cup 2017?

England national under-17 football team
Чемпионат мира по футболу среди юношеских команд 2017/Победитель
Искать: Who won FIFA Under 17 World Cup 2017?