Who first colonized Uganda?

The Protectorate of Uganda was a protectorate of the British Empire from 1894 to 1962. In 1893 the Imperial British East Africa Company transferred its administration rights of territory consisting mainly of the Kingdom of Buganda to the British government.

Why is Ahmed bin Ibrahim remembered in Uganda?

One trader, Ahmad bin Ibrahim, introduced Buganda’s kabaka to the advantages of foreign trade: the acquisition of imported cloth and, more important, guns and gunpowder. Ibrahim also introduced the religion of Islam, but the kabaka was more interested in guns.

WHO declared Uganda as British protectorate?

On 18 June 1894, Uganda was declared a British Protectorate. In this case, it is therefore important to note that General Portal never declared Uganda as a British protectorate. The declaration was made by Lord Rosebery five months after Portal’s death.

Who was the first Arab trader to come to Uganda?

19th century

Islam entered Uganda through the Buganda route in the 1840s and the northern Uganda route through the Turko- Egyptian influences. Kasozi, (1986: 23) gives 1844 as the year when the first Muslim Arab trader; Ahmed bin Ibrahim reached the King’s court in Buganda.

IT\'S FUNNING:  How did the Kingdom of Ghana rise to power?

Who was the first president of Uganda?


No. Name (Birth–Death)
1 Edward Mutesa (1924–1969)
2 Milton Obote (1925–2005)

Who opened the first shop in Kampala?

Allidina Visram (1851 – 30 June 1916) was an Indian settler, merchant, and philanthropist who played a prominent role in the development of British East Africa.

Who were the original inhabitants of Uganda?

The residents of Uganda were hunter-gatherers until 1,700–2,300 years ago. Bantu-speaking populations, who were probably from central Africa, migrated to the southern parts of the country.

Is Uganda a South African?

Uganda is located in eastern Africa, west of Kenya, south of South Sudan, east of the Democratic Republic of the Congo, and north of Rwanda and Tanzania. It is in the heart of the Great Lakes region, and is surrounded by three of them, Lake Edward, Lake Albert, and Lake Victoria.

How Uganda came into existence?

Early independent Uganda (1962–71)

Britain granted independence to Uganda in 1962, although elections leading to internal self-governance were held on 1 March 1961. … Milton Obote was elected Prime Minister in April of 1962 and Uganda became a republic in October 1962, maintaining its Commonwealth membership.

Which flag was used in Uganda by the British?

During the colonial era the British used a British Blue ensign defaced with the colonial badge, as prescribed in 1865 regulations. Buganda, the largest of the traditional kingdoms in the colony of Uganda, had its own flag.

Who colonized Burundi?

Burundi originated in the 16th century as a small kingdom in the African Great Lakes region. After European contact, it was united with the Kingdom of Rwanda, becoming the colony of Ruanda-Urundi – first colonised by Germany and then by Belgium.

IT\'S FUNNING:  How do I register for a trade mark in Nigeria?

Who was the first British governor of Uganda?

List of governors of Uganda

Governor of Uganda
Reports to The Monarch of the United Kingdom
Residence State House, Entebbe
Formation 26 December 1890
First holder Frederick John Dealtry Lugard

Who is the Mufti of Uganda?

Sheikh Shaban Mubaje is Grand Mufti of Uganda and was instrumental in the founding of Religions for Peace’s Interreligious Council of Uganda. Mubaje was born in Bungokho in Mbale district.

What was the first religion to come to Uganda?

Islam was the first of the exogenous religions to arrive, and it became politically significant in the 1970s. Christianity came during the colonial period through spirited missionary activity—especially in the south, where Catholics were called bafaransa (“the French”) and Protestants bangerezza (“the British”).

What is the capital of Uganda?

Kampala (UK: /kæmˈpɑːlə/, US: /kɑːmˈ-/) is the capital and largest city of Uganda. The city proper has a population of 1,680,000 and is divided into the five boroughs of Kampala Central Division, Kawempe Division, Makindye Division, Nakawa Division, and Rubaga Division.