Your question: Who is the first deputy speaker of parliament in Ghana?

First Deputy Speaker – The First Deputy Speaker presides over the sittings of Parliament whenever the Speaker is absent. The current First Deputy Speaker is Joseph Osei Owusu of the New Patriotic Party (NPP).

Who is the deputy speaker of Parliament in Ghana?

There are two Deputy Speakers who are elected from among the members of parliament by the members. Both deputy speakers cannot be from the same political party. The current Deputy Speakers are the MP for Bekwai, Joseph Osei-Owusu, of the New Patriotic Party and MP for Fomena, Andrew Asiamah Amoako, an Independent MP.

Who is deputy speaker in Parliament?

List of Deputy Speakers

No. Name Term
13 Charanjit Singh Atwal 18 May 2009
14 Kariya Munda 18 May 2014
(8) M. Thambidurai 25 May 2019

Who is the first and woman to have served as speaker of Parliament in Ghana?

Joyce Bamford-Addo

The Right Honourable Joyce Adeline Bamford-Addo JSC, CV
Nationality Ghanaian
Alma mater Holy Child School Inner Temple
Profession Judge Barrister
Known for First woman Justice of the Supreme Court of Ghana First woman Speaker of the Parliament of Ghana
IT\'S FUNNING:  How far is Ghana from Lagos?

Who is Joseph Osei Wusu?

Joseph Osei-Owusu (born 22 January 1962, in Bekwai) is a Ghanaian lawyer, and politician. He is the first deputy speaker of the 8th Parliament of the 4th Republic and also the Member of Parliament for the Bekwai constituency in the Ghanaian Parliament.

Who is the head of parliament?

If the Prime Minister is not a member of the Lower House of Parliament, she/he can nominate another minister as the Leader of the House.

Leader of the House in Lok Sabha
Incumbent Narendra Modi since 26 May 2014
Member of Lok Sabha
Reports to Parliament of India
Formation May 1952

Who is the deputy speaker right now?

PM congratulates Thambi Durai on his unanimous election as Deputy Speaker. The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi, today complimented and thanked all sections of the Lok Sabha, for the consensus which led to the unanimous election of Shri Thambi Durai as …

Who is the present deputy speaker of Rajya Sabha?

Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha

Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha
Incumbent Harivansh Narayan Singh since 14 September 2020
Style The Honourable
Member of Rajya Sabha
Reports to Parliament of India

When was the first general election held in Ghana?

Ahead of Ghana becoming a republic, the first presidential election was held on 27 April 1960. Nkrumah won 89% of the vote and was subsequently declared President for life.

Who was the first woman member of parliament in Ghana?

Susanna Al-Hassan or Susan Alhassan (27 November 1927 – 17 January 1997) was a Ghanaian author and politician, who in 1961 became Ghana’s first female to be appointed minister.

IT\'S FUNNING:  Is there a ferry from Greece to Egypt?
Susanna Al-Hassan
Born 20 November 1927
Died 17 January 1997 (aged 69)
Nationality Ghanaian
Political party Convention People’s Party

Who is the MP for Bekwai?

Joseph Osei-Owusu is the member of parliament for the constituency. He was elected as an Independent Candidate.

Bekwai (Ghana parliament constituency)

Region Ashanti Region of Ghana
Current constituency
Party Independent Candidate
MP Joseph Osei-Owusu

Who is the MP for Jirapa?

Jirapa (Ghana parliament constituency)

Region Upper West Region of Ghana
Current constituency
Party National Democratic Congress
MP Francis Bawaana Dakurah